top of page

Sunday recap John 11:1 – 12:50

March 28, 2021


We have reached the end of the sixth and final section in John 2-12, which begins with the sign of Jesus raising Lazarus from the dead. This sign points to Jesus as the resurrection and the life, and it will be made possible through his death on the cross. Before we go on now into Holy Week and look at the story of his passion and resurrection in John 18:1 - 21:25, reflect today on a verse from each of the six passages which we have read in the past week:


When he heard this, Jesus said, ‘This illness will not end in death. No, it is for God’s glory so that God’s Son may be glorified through it.’” (11:4)


Jesus said to her, ‘I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die.” (11:25)


As high priest that year Caiaphas prophesied that Jesus would die for the Jewish nation, and not only for that nation but also for the scattered children of God, to bring them together and make them one.” (11:51b-52)


Then Mary took about half a litre of pure nard, an expensive perfume; she poured it on Jesus’ feet and wiped his feet with her hair. And the house was filled with the fragrance of the perfume.” (12:3)


Very truly I tell you, unless a grain of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds.” (12:24)


For I did not speak on my own, but the Father who sent me commanded me to say all that I have spoken. I know that his command leads to eternal life.” (12:49-50a)

Recent Posts
bottom of page