top of page

He came to do God's will

For I have come down from heaven not to do my will but to do the will of him who sent me.

.

Jesus knew that he had come from God and that God had sent him (John 8:42). He understood that this meant he had been entrusted with a sacred mission of incalculable importance. If it hadn’t been essential, the Father would never have required such self-emptying and sacrifice from him. So only one response was appropriate – a single-minded focus on doing the will of the One who had sent him.

.

The writer of Hebrews sees this as a fulfilment of prophecy: “Therefore, when Christ came into the world, he said: ‘Sacrifice and offering you did not desire, but a body you prepared for me... I have come to do your will, my God.’” (Hebrews 10:5-7; Psalm 40:6-8). The outcome was life for the world: “And by that will, we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all” (Hebrews 10:10).

.

As Jesus often said, the servant is not greater than his master. If the Lord of heaven and earth should submit so gladly to the will of his Father, then surely his followers should likewise echo the Psalmists words: “I desire to do your will, O my God” (Psalm 46:8).

Recent Posts
bottom of page