top of page

He came from God

“I have come here from God. I have not come on my own; God sent me.” John 8:42

.

Christmas Day is a celebration of the coming of Jesus into the world. The Gospels record frequent occasions when Jesus used the words, “I have come”, and each of these sayings tells us something about why he came. But foundational to the reasons for his coming is the realisation of where he came from.

.

He came from God. This is what makes Christmas so very special and unique. As John tells us in his prologue, “No-one has ever seen God; the only God, who is at the Father's side, he has made him known” (John 1:18). We could never have known God otherwise.

.

This awareness was at the heart of Jesus’s own self-identity. He had laid aside all the glory of heaven to become a human being, but he knew he “came from the Father and entered the world” (John 16:28). There were many who scoffed at this (as in John 8), but to his disciples he spoke these wonderful words: “the Father himself loves you because you have loved me and have believed that I came from God” ” (John 16:27).

.

Before considering why Jesus came, ask yourself if you really believe he came from God. If so, what weight and importance do you give to all that he says?

Recent Posts
bottom of page